Booker T. Washington rallies late, knocks off Pryor in overtime for 5A supremacy
by Ben Johnson (@BenJohnsonTUL)
3/16/2018 5:18:42 PM
posted in: Game Summary | 2,364 views

TULSA — Pryor’s first championship since 2003 was right there for the taking. Yet, it was Class 5A No. 3 Booker T. Washington that exited the Mabee Center for the gold ball, beating Pryor 56-49 in overtime on Saturday.

Pryor led the Hornets 45-40 with 59 seconds left, and then Booker T. Washington freshman Victoria Nunez drained a 3-pointer to cut the Tigers’ lead to two. Then two turnovers and a missed free throw by Chloe Martin allowed the Hornets’ Rhys Anderson to knock down a jumper in the lane to tie the game at 45.

Then in overtime, it was all Booker T. Washington.

Nunez started the scoring with a 3-pointer from the right corner, and the Hornets plowed their way to their first championship since 2013.

“I can’t say enough about the fortitude that the girls showed,” Booker T. Washington coach Rabu Leyva said. “There was no magic game plan; they found a way to get it done.”

Pryor (21-8), after a slugging first half, much like the first half in the semifinals against Woodward, came to life in the third quarter. Martin and Beverlee Caraway — who had a combined seven points in the first half on 13 shot attempts — racked up 20 points between the two of them in the second half. Pryor led by as many as five on several occasions, and it appeared the Tigers would give their huge contingent in the stands something to cheer about.

But behind Anderson’s 16 points, the Hornets managed to rally.

Armani Reed and Khalan Richardson both added 11 points apiece for the Hornets.

Booker T. Washington13128121156

Booker T. Washington (25-5): Rhys Anderson 16, Armani Reed 11, Khalan Richardson 11, Victoria Nunez 6, Camryn Fennell 4, Emmary Williams 3, Sai Johnson 3, Maryah Lowe 2.

Pryor (21-8): Beverlee Caraway 15, Chloe Martin 14, Autumn Miller 5, Halee Nichols 4, Faith Lanham 4, Kenzie Silkey 3, Hollie Wood 2, M’Kayla Hillman 2.

Add a Comment